Welcome to Sullivan Station
Steaming hot soups, overstuffed sandwiches, fresh seafood, steaks, choice dinner selections, creative pasta dishes and heavenly homemade desserts are served daily.
Sullivan Station was originally built as a railroad passenger depot in 1893 by the New York, New Haven and Hartford Railroad. Prior to this construction, passengers boarded and disembarked from a tiny wooden building across the tracks.The inconvenience of having to walk across the tracks to get to the village was one of the reasons for seeking a new structure.
Lee merchant and contractor Thomas Heaphy convinced Wellington Smith, a prominent resident and paper mill owner, to represent the town in meetings with railroad officials in Boston. When the new depot was approved, the construction contract was awarded to Heaphy, and the depot became a product of labor of the local citizens.
The new passenger depot opened on Saturday, November 4, 1893, and the first ticket was proudly purchased by Thomas Heaphy himself. It remained the Lee Depot until 1971. The struc-ture, then in the possession of Penn Central Railroad, was used as a line office.
The real estate was purchased from Penn Central in 1975 by the present owner. The building was used to operate two busi-nesses, Barritt Oil Co. and Iron Horse Realty until 1980, when the family decided to take on the task of painstaking restoration. Enthusiastically, the depot was transformed into a restaurant. Sullivan Station Restaurant opened September 11, 1981.We know you will enjoy this dining experience...